Review: L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation and Makeup Extender Setting Spray

L'Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation and Makeup Extender Let me preface this review by acknowledging that I have oily skin.  If I apply makeup around 7 a.m., it’s a given that by 2-3 p.m. my makeup will have begun to break up.  The idea of my face staying “matte” for any extended period of time isn’t in the realm of possibility.  Another thing you should know about me is that despite my oily skin, I don’t bother with touch ups.  I just don’t want to deal with it.  Occasionally I’ll break out the blotting papers, but with the exception of reapplying my lip color, I don’t do touch ups.  When I heard about the new L’Oreal Infallible products the two that piqued my interest the most were the foundation and the setting spray.  Around Thanksgiving, I began stalking my local drugstores and Target trying to find these products.  I was always too early, or too late.  Finally, a few weeks ago I manage to get my hands on them.

IMG_7225L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation
The L’Oreal website describes this foundation as having, “The pro look of long wear.  Air-light texture, barely there feel.  Flawless, demi-matte finish.”  The consistency reminds me of the Smashbox Photo Ready BB Cream.  It’s most definitely not a liquid.  I squeezed a dime-sized amount on the back of my hand, and then dotted it on my face.  I blended using a damp Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge.  I’m not sure if I would describe it as a, “barely there feel,” but this stuff is no joke in the coverage department.  I would also agree that it’s long-wearing.  My usual makeup break-up was almost non-existant.  This stuff is actually pretty amazing.

Like many drugstore foundations, I find that color matching is somewhat of a challenge.  The packaging doesn’t help.  I went out on a limb choosing 103, Natural Buff.  It’s a pretty good match, but it’s probably a hint too dark.  However, if you’re looking for a long-wearing, full coverage foundation, this is a great buy.

L'Oreal Infallible Spray Set Makeup ExtenderInfallible Pro-Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray
“Locks in makeup look for a just applied makeup look all day.”  I’ve used this setting spray consistently for a couple of weeks, and so far I’m pleased.  Setting sprays are one of those products that can be helpful, but I don’t really believe they are making or breaking the longevity of my makeup.  I’ve used both high-end and drugstore offerings and I feel like they’re all somewhat similar… although some are quite better than others.  In my opinion, it’s the pumps that can make the most difference.  I don’t know what feat of engineering Urban Decay has discovered, but the pumps on their setting sprays are some of the best.  The L’Oreal setting spray may be a close second, particularly when paired with the foundation discussed above.  If you’re looking for a setting spray, but don’t want to fork over $30+, the L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray is a great option.  The mist is fairly light, the bottle and pump are of good quality and it really does seem to help my makeup stay in place and remain fresh looking a bit longer than if I went without it.  At $15.99 it’s still a bit pricey for drugstore, but it’s still half the cost of Urban Decay or other luxury brands, and in my opinion it’s of the same quality.

Have you tried either of these products or any others from the new Infallible line?  I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

