Drugstore Mini Haul: Milani Color Statement Moisture Matte Lipsticks

Since Milani announced their line of new Moisture Matte Lipsticks, I’ve ducked into every CVS and Walgreens within a 20 mile radius in hopes of purchasing a few tubes. In most cases the special displays were picked clean by the time I arrived.  But not today! During my lunch break I hit up a CVS that had all eight shades fully stocked. CVS was offering a great deal — BOGO 50% off, plus I had a coupon on my CVS card for $3 off a $10 Milani purchase. Milani Moisture Matte LipstickI chose Matte Naked, Matte Blissful and Matte Passion. These are all shades that I’m lacking in my collection of lippies.  Moisture Matte really is a great way to describe them. All three glide on as if they’re lip balm, and they’re extremely pigmented. Milani Moisture Matte Lipstick Matte Passion is a fiery, orange-red and may be my favorite of the three. There’s nothing I love more than a simple cat eye and a bright red lip. The orange tint makes it a bit edgier than the standard red. This is a color that is great year round and, in my opinion, would look fabulous on nearly all skin tones. Matte Blissful is almost a baby pink once it’s on the lips.  But again, it’s a little edgier because there’s a slight orchid or purple undertone. This could look great with a gray, smokey eye. Matte Naked is a brownish-mauve color, and I’m on the fence about how I think it actually looks on me.  Of the three, it probably is the least flattering for my skin tone. However, when I swatched it I’d already removed my makeup and my face was looking a little flat. I’m going to give this one another chance to see if I can make it work. I picked up a few other items during my trip to the drugstore and plan to share my thoughts on them in the next few days, including one that I think is a dupe for a more expensive salon brand.

Leave a Reply

