Review: Garnier Full and Plush Voluptuous Blowout and Root Amp

Garnier Full and Plush ProductsI feel as though I’m on a never-ending quest to find a drugstore product that provides salon quality results.  More and more, drugstore brands are stepping up, and in some cases give luxury and salon quality products a run for their money.  That’s not to say I don’t buy salon products, but why spend the money if you can find a much cheaper dupe?

My hair is oily, and during the work week I typically wash it every day.  Since this fall, I’ve been using a cleansing conditioner rather than standard shampoo/conditioner and I’m very pleased with the results.  My hair is much softer and maintains a bit more texture than if I had washed and dried using regular shampoo/conditioner.  I’ve found the key with cleansing conditioners is to really massage it in so that it gets into the thickest parts of my hair.  In my case, that’s the crown of my head.  When applying, I actually section off a top layer of hair and massage the cleansing conditioner under that section.

My hair is cut in a short bob, as I’m attempting to grown it out after years with variations on a short pixie.  My styling product of choice recently has been Bed Head Small Talk, which provides volume and acts as a thickener.  I also have a hair type that holds no style.  The more product I use, the fuzzier and flatter it becomes.  So I’m always on the lookout for products that will add texture without weighing it down.

Enter the Garnier Full and Plush line of products.

Garnier Full and Plush Voluptuous Blowout

Garnier Full and Plush Voluptuous Blowout
Garnier says this product provides, “the look of more hair, fullness and body, and shape and structure.”  After using Bed Head’s Small Talk for nearly a year, I would say this is almost an exact dupe.  It provides the same level of texture and fullness that Small Talk provides at a fraction of the price.  I massage it into the roots of my damp hair, focusing on my hairline around my face and temples.  This is where my hair is thinnest and needs the most help.  Then, I run a wide tooth comb through to further distribute the product through the ends.  For several weeks I used this product solely, blowing my hair dry after massaging it in, then running a flatiron through my hair and calling it a day.  It provided a good amount of volume and left my hair smooth, but with some texture.

Garnier Root Amp

Garnier Full and Plush Root Amp
I admit, I wasn’t expecting much when I purchased Root Amp.  It was a total impulse buy during the same trip where I scored the Milani Moisture Matte Lipsticks.  Garnier describes Root Amp as, “a target action spray mousse with extreme volumizing power that builds all day mega-lift at the roots with no sticky weigh down.”  I followed the directions and after massaging in Voluptuous Blow Out, I section off the parts of my air where I need the most lift, i.e. the hair at my part and the crown, and spray the product into the roots in short bursts.  After I’ve sprayed the product, I massage it in a bit more with my fingers and blow dry.  There is no question that this product offers texture and volume.  I would describe it as “back-comb in a bottle.”  I would also suggest it as a great dupe for Big Sexy Hair Root Pump.

Have you tried any of the products from the Full and Plush line?  After the success I’ve had with these two products I’m eager to give the others a try.  My success with Garnier products has been hit or miss in the past, but in my opinion, they’ve knocked it out of the park with these two.

Leave a Reply

