Review: Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless Foundation

Maybelline-FitMe-MattePorelessOkay Maybelline, you had me at “matte” and “poreless”. How could I not purchase this foundation? I think I even managed to choose the correct shade, which is always cause for anxiety when I try drugstore brands.

This is a new formula from the Fit Me line of Maybelline products. I’ve already shared my love of the Fit Me concealers, so I went into this endeavor feeling optimistic.  And in short, Maybelline delivered.  I think I may even go out on a limb and say that I like this better than the L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte I reviewed when I first launched Mama and Makeups. Why? Well, because all though the L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte was long-wearing, it didn’t stay matte nearly as well or as long as this one did, and it felt even more weightless.

The formula of this foundation is pretty standard. It’s a liquid, although a bit on the thicker side, but still feels very light. I felt like it matched up with my skin tone even better than my Urban Decay Naked Skin and I had that professionally matched at Sephora. I will mention that the display I found was pretty picked over, and it didn’t appear that there were a wide range of shades. However, when I checked Maybelline’s website, they do offer some pretty deep shades in this formula.

The first day I wore Matte+Poreless, I buffed it on using a Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. That worked well, but the second day, I opted to use a damp Miracle Complexion Sponge and I found that I preferred that application. It just seemed to blend that much better. On the first day that I wore the foundation, I mistakenly applied a mattifying lotion prior to the foundation. I wanted this review to really be based on the performance of the foundation alone, without any primers, so on the second day I used a standard moisturizer, no primer, and documented my day − no filters.

The photos really speak for themselves, although I apologize that these are all car selfies. I wore the foundation to work. It was a standard day for me, a full eight hours, plus a trip to the gym. I didn’t photograph myself post-gym, but I will vouch that the foundation still held up to the standard wear and tear any long work day and trip the gym would impose.

When it comes to mattifying, this foundation is solid. Normally, I’m “dewey” by noon. By 3 p.m., I’m in the restroom executing Level 10 blotting efforts. I really didn’t feel compelled to do that once while wearing the Matte+Poreless formula.

However, the promises regarding “porelessness” weren’t completely kept. I have pores, and no foundation has truly ever blurred them completely. I’m going to let that slide because I’m really thrilled with this foundation for the mattifying and long-wear it does offer.

I picked it up at Target and it was just under $6. Can you beat that?! If you’re in the market for a solid, mattifying foundation then this is the one for you.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

