Drugstore Makeup Favorites

I don’t discriminate when it comes to makeup and beauty purchases. As much as I love a successful trip to Sephora, I’m all about cutting some coupons and heading to my local CVS. Some of my favorite makeup and beauty products are drugstore purchases and I find myself reaching for them much more often than their pricier counterparts.

Here are a few of the drugstore products I’m loving at the moment.

IMG_0024Maybelline Fit Me Matte+Poreless Foundation

I’ve raved about this stuff before. I just can’t get over it.  I have five foundations in permanent rotation, but this is the one I reach for most often. While I’ll never truly be poreless, I love the finish this foundation offers. Yes, it’s matte, but I don’t have issues with it clinging to any dry bits like most matte foundations. It’s buildable, lasts all day on this oily girl and it’s under $6.  What’s not to love?

IMG_0021Coty Airspun Loose Face Powder, Neutral

I remember seeing Coty face powder in my grandma’s bathroom when I was a little girl and for a while I only associated it with grandmothers. It didn’t seem like a product I would ever pick up. But, I started watching a YouTube makeup guru talk it up and I had to give it a shot. I bought a container of it over a year ago for 75% off at CVS (the same one in this photo and yes! it lasts forever) and I’m so glad I did. This powder is great for loosely dusting on the face to set your makeup, but I use it for baking. What’s baking? That might have to be a future post, but here’s the Cliff’s Notes: baking isn’t new, it’s been around forever and is the ultimate method for setting your makeup. I admit, my fave under-eye baking powder is Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder, but I use the Coty Airspun face powder under my cheek contour whenever I’m wearing a full face of makeup.

IMG_0020NYX Studio Perfect Primer, Clear

The first primer I ever used was the original Smashbox Photo Finish Primer. It forever changed my makeup game. Once you start wearing a good primer, it’s really hard to go back. I’ve always found drugstore primers to be disappointing, but I persevered and finally found one that gives Smashbox a run for its money. NYX Studio Perfect Primer is a great dupe for the original Smashbox Photo Finish Primer and it’s less than half the price. Need I say more?

img_0018img_0019

Milani Moisture Matte Lipstick

I discovered Milani a couple of years ago. It’s one of those displays that I just never really gave a second thought. Once again, YouTube opened my eyes. Milani has some great lipstick options. I’m particularly fond of their Moisture Matte line, because they are truly just that. They provide a great matte finish, but they aren’t drying and they go on super smooth, like butter. My favorite shade is Matte Naked. It’s a nude taupe that goes well with almost any makeup look.

NYX Powder Blush, Taupe

I recall rumblings that contouring was on its way out in 2016, but as far as I’m concerned, I’m just getting started. Once I discovered the difference a good contour could make, I was in it to win it. There are a few options for contouring that I could recommend, in varying price ranges, but if you’re looking for a fantastic option on the cheap, look no further than  NYX Powder Blush in Taupe. I purchased this at Ulta because this shade doesn’t usually make it into the limited selection of NYX products at most drugstores and Target. It’s about $5, and as I’m writing this, I see that NYX is currently offering it online for $2! As much as I love my Kat Von D Shade+Light palette, I’ve been using this blush as my contour every day since I purchased it a month ago. It’s a cool brown that mimics shadow, blends well and has great pigmentation.

IMG_0023Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

I’ll go ahead and admit right now that I’ve never tried a beauty blender. I will spend some money on makeup, no question. I just have a hard time unloading $20 for a makeup sponge. I can justify the expense of brushes, because they will last years. But a sponge? Just… no. I’m a fan of Real Techniques Brushes and I love watching Sam and Nicole Chapman on YouTube. When they announced their Miracle Complexion Sponge, they had me at hello. I love this sponge. I can’t say that it’s a dupe for the Beauty Blender since I haven’t tried it, but this sponge is fantastic for applying foundation, concealer and even powder. I use it every day. Its quite affordable, and you can sometimes find them on Amazon at even more of a bargain.

Happy makeuping!

Leave a Reply

