The Perfect Coral Lip Color

There’s something about the perfect coral lip that just screams summer. It’s one of those shades that you associate with bronze skin and lazy days at the beach. I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect coral lip color for quite some time. While I love how coral shades look on others, I often found that the shades I was attracted to in ads or on YouTube videos, never seemed to work as well on me. They were too pink or too peach and often their orange undertones made my teeth look yellow. Not a good look. I’ve kissed a lot of frogs during my search for a coral lip color, but I think I’ve found my prince.  Enter NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Manila.

In most cases, I tend to be a lip gloss sort of girl. I love lip color, but I struggle in successfully applying most bright or bold lipstick. I find lip gloss to be much more forgiving. Recently, I’ve become a big fan of the lip cream concepts that many brands are rolling out. They apply like a gloss, but usually dry matte and have the staying power of a long-wearing lipstick. You do have to exercise some precision when applying, but I find that the doe-foot applicator on most lip creams offers a bit more control.

I’ll admit, Manila was an impulse buy. A drugstore lip color is a fun and affordable way to treat yourself and I already knew I liked the way NYX’s Soft Matte Lip Creams applied. This was definitely a happy accident. NYX describes Manila as “coral with a pink undertone”. I suppose I would agree with this, but it also has an almost neon quality that I love. No joke, it’s bright!

IMG_0069

Prior to applying, I line my lips with a Milani Color Statement lip liner in 02 True Red which is a slightly blue-toned red that helps to create a crisp line and combat the yellow cast that coral lip colors can give my teeth. I fill my lips in with manila and then use a lip brush to blend.

Most of the best things that have happened in my life came along after I stopped trying so hard and opted to leave the door of possibility open. While finding my perfect coral lip color isn’t quite on the same level as meeting my husband, becoming a mom or finding the right job, I’m definitely not mad about it! You can expect to see me wearing this shade quite regularly over the spring and summer months.

What’s your go-to coral lip color?

Happy makeuping!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

