Beauty Products I’m Loving Vol. 1

I see so many beauty bloggers post about monthly favorites. I admit, I can’t keep pace with that level of commitment. Also, there are just some months where I don’t have any new favorites. I’ve decided that rather than forcing it, I’ll write a “favorites” post when I really feel like I have a few new products that have made it into frequent rotation in my beauty arsenal.  I’ve been wearing the following products on repeat for well over a week and with no signs of losing interest.  The makeup look posted above uses all of the products listed below:

Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Blush Palette

Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Blush Palette
Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Blush Palette
Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Blush Palette
Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Blush Palette

I purchased this palette immediately upon it becoming available back in January. In fact, my Sephora hadn’t actually put it on the shelves yet, but I talked an associate into going into the back and getting one for me. I’ll be honest and say that I bought it more because it was from the Gwen Stefani collaboration and because the packaging was beautiful. The fact that there happened to be some great blushes inside the palette was gravy. Five months later and I’m reaching for this palette every day. Lo-Fi and OC are fantastic for offering variations on a bronzey, peachy glow. Sometimes I mix them with Angel or Hush to make a more shimmery, custom look. I can’t get enough of these blushes. But here I am, once again singing the praises of a limited edition item! While I can’t speak from experience, I’ve heard that the Afterglow Highlighters and Bleached Bronzers from the new Urban Decay summer collection offer near dupes for Lo-Fi, Angel and OC.

Too Faced Semi Sweet Chocolate Bar Palette

Too Faced Semi Sweet Chocolate Bar Palette
Too Faced Semi Sweet Chocolate Bar Palette

Too Faced has become my eye palette “go-to” lately. I’m still enjoying the Sweet Peach palette, but the Semi Sweet Chocolate Bar palette may be the one that has truly stolen my heart. HSN offered a great deal where you received a Love Flush Blush, full-size Better than Sex Mascara, full-size Shadow Insurance Primer and the Semi Sweet palette, all for the cost of the palette. It was too good to pass up. The Semi Sweet palette has so many fantastic neutrals. Nougat and Puddin’ are two of my absolute favorites, but there are so many great options in this palette. Shimmer, matte, satin… all the bases are covered. I’ve worn this palette every day for the past week and it’s earned a spot in my overnight bag when I travel for work in a few days. It looks like this palette is sticking around for a while, so if you need a great range of neutrals that also happen to smell like chocolate, you should give this a try.

Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder

Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder
Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder

Laura Mercier products provide a tiny bit of nostalgia for me. Several years ago, the Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer was one of my first Sephora purchases after getting a new job, and I remember feeling like I was really on my way when it came to my career. The Secret Brightening Powder purchase didn’t have nearly that amount of optimism behind it, but since then it has surpassed my expectations. In fact, I think I love it more and more every time I use it. I use it primarily to set the concealer under my eyes. I dip the brush in the powder, but I don’t shake off the excess. I pat it under my eyes and let it bake. After contour and blush, I dust off any remaining powder. It provides a great under eye highlight that isn’t too shimmery. It adds a nice glow and keeps my concealer in place all day.

These are the three products that are continually hitting it out of the park for me right now. What are your current favorites?

Happy makeuping!

Leave a Reply

