Foundation Alternatives

I wear a full face of makeup to work. Primers, highlight, contour, mascara —it’s a whole production. A production that I enjoy very much. Time spent applying makeup each morning is my moment of zen as I prepare to take on the day.

On the weekend, while I have more time to play around with makeup, I tend to prefer a more minimal routine. For the past year, I’ve been on the hunt for an alternative to foundation — a good quality BB or CC cream, or even a tinted moisturizer that would provide reasonable coverage and last through the day. The two products that piqued my interest were the Urban Decay Naked One and Done Hybrid Complexion Perfector, and the It Cosmetics Your Skin but Better CC Cream.  Apparently both of these products are also competing for the award of, “Longest Name Ever.”

Urban Decay Naked Skin One and Done Complexion PerfectorThe Urban Decay Naked One and Done Hybrid Complexion Perfector is like a blurring primer and tinted moisturizer in one. The coverage is minimal but it offers a nice pore minimizing effect and a bit of illumination. I wore this quite a bit during the summer. However, it didn’t have much staying power throughout the day. Another flaw is that it would separate or bunch up occasionally on application. I’ve encountered several face products over the years that do this. What is this? I can’t find the right word to describe it, but it’s essentially when the product clumps into little balls while you’re applying. In this case, I found that applying using my hands offered the best outcome. I typically use this product when I’m going without any other makeup, but want to give my complexion a little pep.

It Cosmetics Your Skin but Better CC CreamIt Cosmetics Your Skin but Better CC Cream is a newer addition to my makeup table.  I enjoy the It Cosmetics brushes and their Brush Bath, but this was the first makeup product I’ve purchased from the line. Your Skin but Better CC Cream offers much more coverage than the Urban Decay One and Done and it offers a nice brightening effect. I apply this with a brush. You have to be fast because it can dry quickly, but it blends well and I only need to use one pump of product. The great thing about the CC Cream is that I can stop there if I want, but I can also build on it by adding concealer, blush, bronzer, etc.— it’s a great base and it lasts through the day. This is huge for me since the makeup breakup struggle is real for this girl!

If I were asked which one I would purchase again, it’s definitely the It Cosmetics Your Skin but Better CC Cream. It ended up being the total package and exactly what I wanted in my search for weekend makeup.

I’m still on the hunt for a drugstore option. If you have recommendations, please share!

 

 

Leave a Reply

