Review: Urban Decay De-Slick Complexion Primer

Where are all my oily girls?

Urban Decay is kicking off 2017 with a bang. Not only did they repackage their setting sprays, but they released a set of primers geared toward different skin types and needs.

I was instantly curious when I learned about these primers. I watched a video from Urban Decay’s YouTube page, where Wende takes you through every product, how they repackaged the old stuff and developed the new stuff. I went from curious, to excited to get my hands on the primers.

I scored the De-Slick Complexion Primer on New Year’s Day at my local Ulta, and set out to test it out the very next day.

The De-Slick Complexion Primer is modeled after the setting spray of the same name. On the Urban Decay website, the primer is described as a, “lightweight, oil-absorbing primer” that, “helps makeup go on better and last all day.”

The packaging is beautiful — modern and edgy, just like the Urban Decay brand. Instead of a tube, the packaging is similar to the Naked Skin Foundation, and dispenses via a pump.

Urban Decay De-Slick Complexion Primer
Urban Decay De-Slick Complexion Primer

Be sure to read the instructions! You are not supposed to rub this primer onto your face, but pat it. I used only one pump and focused on my forehead, cheeks, nose, mouth and chin — all the places where I struggle with makeup breakup. Side note, apparently you can re-apply this primer over your makeup as needed throughout the day for touch-ups.

I applied the primer, and followed my typical makeup routine. Here are a couple of photos I took throughout the day.

The photo on the left was taken about four hours after I applied the primer and my makeup. The photo on the right was taken about seven hours after I applied the primer and my makeup. Both photos are completely unfiltered, using natural light. Also, yes, this hair is happening. Just go with it.

Holy mattifier, Batman! This stuff is the real deal. I went into this with pretty low expectations. While I have some good experiences with a few primers, I’ve never experienced one that delivers at this level. By the end of the day, I’m usually experiencing significant shine and breakup around my nose, mouth and on my chin. As I type this, I’ve now been wearing this same face of makeup, with no touch-ups for approximately nine hours with very little shine and virtually no breakup occurring in those areas. It just looks GOOD. That’s all I can say. It’s as if I just applied my makeup. It’s nuts.

Urban Decay is making all of my 2017 primer dreams come true! The only downside is the price. At $34, it isn’t cheap and you get just under one ounce. I’m interested to see just how long it lasts. The directions do encourage you to use a small amount, so I’m hoping it will be worth it.

Several of the other primers in this collection sparked my interest, but I only shelled out for De-Slick. On the YouTube video, Wende also encouraged using different primers on different parts of your face, depending on your needs.

Have you tried any of the others? What are your thoughts?

Happy makeuping!

 

 

Leave a Reply

