Review: Pür Cosmetics Bare it All 4-in-1 Skin Perfecting Foundation

I was completely sucked into a sales pitch during a recent trip to Ulta. Pür Cosmetics was doing a BOGO deal with their Bare it All Foundation and Powder and I totally fell for the sales rep’s hype. In her defense, I’m always on the hunt for the perfect foundation, so I’ll admit that she really didn’t even have to try that hard.

These are the details on the Pür Cosmetics Bare it All 4-in-1 Skin Perfecting Foundation according to the Pür website:

By combining high-quality skincare ingredients with complexion-perfecting pigments, this new 12-hour demi-matte foundation instantly perfects the look of skin while helping to correct problem areas over time. Its weightless and full coverage formula masks imperfections, pores and fine lines all day without cracking, separating or fading – fitting into your busy lifestyle by eliminating the need for touchups throughout the day. Formulated with agave extract, green tea, ginseng, B vitamins and PÜR’s proprietary Ceretin® Complex, this unique formula moisturizes and plumps the skin while stimulating the skin’s renewal process and fighting signs of aging. Helping you love the skin you’re in, it’s makeup that gives you the confidence to bare it all.

I’ve worn this foundation every day for a week since purchasing. It retails for $39 but because of the deal at Ulta, I purchased both the foundation and the powder for the price of one (the foundation was the higher priced item). In this blog post I’ll be reviewing the foundation only.

This foundation comes in a tube, which is nice for travel and dispensing product. I had to play around with just how much product is actually necessary, and I’ve determined an amount slightly larger than a pea is enough for me.

The consistency is fairly thick, and has a whipped quality. The sales rep recommended I use a dense brush to apply and I’ve consistently used my Sigma F80 Flat Top Kabuki brush.

Initially it can seem like the foundation is applying somewhat patchy, but don’t give up. It is blendable, though you have to work at it. I used a combination of buffing and stippling as I applied.

I agree with the official description above in that it’s full coverage, but I don’t know that I would describe it as “weightless”. It felt pretty heavy as the day progressed, although I will agree that the breakup was minimal. However, I think the ingredients working that magic are probably also responsible for the mask-like feeling that I had when I looked in the mirror.

Would I buy it again?  No.

If you’re looking for a long-wearing, full coverage foundation, I recommend Esteé Lauder Double Wear Foundation. In my opinion, it doesn’t feel nearly as heavy as the Bare it All Foundation from Pür and it still has serious staying power. My preferred high-end, every day foundation remains Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation.

If you’ve tried the Pür Cosmetics Bare it All 4-in-1 Skin Perfecting Foundation, what did you think? I’d love to hear how it worked out for you.

Happy makeuping!

 

 

Leave a Reply

